Pratt honors their student-athletes at annual awards ceremony

Pratt honors their student-athletes at annual awards ceremony

BROOKLYN – Pratt Institute honored its student-athletes at the annual athletic awards ceremony on Monday evening at Memorial Hall.  

Dean Liaw, a sophomore standout for Pratt men's volleyball, was named the department's male athlete of the year. In a season where he led the Cannoneers in kills, digs, and hitting percentage, Liaw's season of highlights include three games of 20-plus kills and a personal-best 29-dig performance against Cooper Union in the season finale.

Melanie Kania took home the department's female athlete of the year award. After compiling identical 7-2 records in both singles and doubles competitions, Kania helped the Cannoneers to their second straight HVIAC regular season and tournament championships. Along with being a two-time player of the week award winner for the HVIAC, Kania was also named the conference player of the year last November.

Pratt's student-athletes were also recognized for their academic achievements, with 55 Cannoneers being named All-Academic team members of the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, as well as Academic All-Americans from the United States Collegiate Athletic Association.

Pratt's keynote speaker was Eric Hutcherson. Currently the Executive Vice President & Chief Human Resource Officer for the National Basketball Association, Hutcherson is also a highly sought after motivational speaker and has constructed a career development training program entitled "Say Yes to Success."

2017-18 Most Valuable Players

Men's Soccer: Juan Gomez
Women's Soccer: Taylor Chin
Men's Cross Country: Josh Pleva
Women's Cross Country: Peg Smith
Women's Volleyball: Emelen Mikelic
Women's Tennis: Melanie Kania
Men's Basketball: Andrew Yaglenski
Women's Basketball: Anna Bryce
Men's Track & Field: Dylan Cabral
Women's Track & Field: Lolo Walker
Men's Volleyball: Dean Liaw
Men's Tennis: Ben Erickson

2017-18 Newcomers of the Year

Men's Soccer: Miles Wright
Women's Soccer: Katie Medina
Men's Cross Country: Jashawn Richardson
Women's Cross Country: Polina Alieva
Women's Volleyball: Alivia Senevoravong
Women's Tennis: Maia Schlussel
Men's Basketball: Eric Xue
Women's Basketball: Kathy Neblett
Women's Track & Field: Eliza Ross
Men's Volleyball: Albi Marke
Men's Tennis: Leo Yang